» salt/fresh rod/reel to compliment tenkara rod
Username:
Password:
Remember Me

salt/fresh rod/reel to compliment tenkara rod
  Page 1 of 1    « First   1   Last » 
USERMESSAGE
bkinsman
Posted on 19/06/2018 at 01:45 PM.Send to a friend Send a Private Message View Profile Quote this User
Hi Guys!

My name's Ben, I live in Erskineville and I'm a total newbie to fly fishing..

Recently purchased a Tenkara rod to use whilst bike packing for locations like Colo/Hawkesbury, Lithgow, Blue mountains etc but in my research I've come to realise that the Tenkara setup is gonna be pretty much useless locally so I've got the itch to get a setup that I can use a bit closer to home.

I'd like be able to throw a line out at places like Cooks River, Rozelle, Manly Dam, Narrabeen Lake, Davidson Park, etc (pretty much anywhere I can ride my bike) just for a bit of fun (I know a lot of it will be inedible)

I'm thinking that a 6/7wt fresh/salt rod & reel might be the go, but from what I've been reading I may need heavier? Ideally a combo is best to start with I think (hope)...

Can anyone who knows the spots I've listed above give me some advice?

Ginko
View Profile
Posted on 20/06/2018 at 05:29 PM.Send to a friend Send a Private Message View Profile Quote this User
Being land based, I'd say that the fish you'll be fighting won't be the determining factor (I have a 5 weight, and it is heavy enough to handle everything I've ever caught from land).

But your flies will determine the line weight, and therefore rod weight. For salt, there are times when you want to turn over something a bit bigger, but I'd say a 6 or 7 would be fine for 95% of the flies that you'll be using.