» Flies and flyfishing products
» Wabnitz Worm Fly
Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Wabnitz Worm Fly
USERMESSAGE
Bluecod
Posted on 14/07/2014 at 09:39 PM.Send to a friend Send a Private Message View Profile Quote this User
I've posted this tie on the Australian Saltwater Flyfishing Forum and it is of a fly I've been working on for the past 18 months. 12 months or so ago, I was the only one to try it out on the CI bonefish population, but just recently myself and another couple of anglers tried it out over there with great success. It has yet to be given a good run on whiting bream and flathead, but it should work OK.

For those who don't tie their own, I have just been informed that it will be going into commercial production and should be available on-line shortly.

For those who can roll their own, here it is

Hammer's Wabnitz Worm

Materials.

Hook = Gamakatsu SL11-3H #6 or #8
Thread = Flat waxed in Orange or Salmon Pink
Krystal Flash = Orange or Pearl
Eyes = 3.0mm or 3.5mm gold dumbbell or medium brass beadchain
Wing = Hareline medium Ultra Chenille in Worm Brown [substitute light tan polyester wool melted at one end to prevent unravelling or light nylon cord dyed light tan]
Overbody = V-rib in shrimp pink or clear [substitute 16lb clear mono]

Comments: Fish this fly slowly in either a long slow strip or short 2" jerks, or combination of both - deadly on CI bonefish.

Tying Instructions.

Wrap thread down to a point opposite the hook point

Tie in V-rib or clear mono and continue thread to start of bend in shank

Take thread back towards the eye of the hook and tie in the dumbbell eyes or beadchain

Take two full-length strands of krystal flash, double and tie in between the hook's eye and the eyes