» Learning the art
Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Learning the art
  Page 1 of 1    « First   1   Last » 
USERMESSAGE
FLYJC93
Posted on 14/07/2012 at 06:10 PM.Send to a friend Send a Private Message View Profile Quote this User
How's it going guys,

My names Jake and i'm new to the art of fly fishing. Just bought myself a daiwa sylph 5# fly combo to learn with... Looking for advice about which species would be best to start of chasing by either boat, yak or land based ?

All information will be greatly appreciated !

Cheers,
Jake

William
View Profile
Posted on 14/07/2012 at 06:55 PM.Send to a friend Send a Private Message View Profile Quote this User
Welcome Jake
What locations do you yak and fish land based?

You can target flatties much as you would with spin gear - fish the edge of shallow flats dropping into deeper water on the run out tide.

Bream around structure.

This time of year with a bit of berley and a sinking flyline can usually see a few silver trevally hit the fly.

Luderick in the washes on weedfly.

Mullet on breadfly.

Bass a little later on when the weather warms up.

The highest form of existence is play
FLYJC93
Posted on 14/07/2012 at 07:05 PM.Send to a friend Send a Private Message View Profile Quote this User
William, Thank you for the helpful advice. I mainly fish the nepean river and sydney harbour. ┴lthough i only target pelagics in the harbour, i'm not looking at diving into the deep end and fishing for pelagics on fly. ═ just want to get out and perfect my style with some easier species then move up to the salmon, bonnies & kings. What size flys are good for small estuary fish and can you use a fly for both fresh and salt water ?
I'm going to lake lyell in a few weekends time and going to build up my arsenal of flys !

William
View Profile
Posted on 14/07/2012 at 09:24 PM.Send to a friend Send a Private Message View Profile Quote this User
FLYJC93 wrote: